Brigette Reviews The World We Made

The World We Made by Jonathon Porritt

THE WORLD WE MADE flat cover

Describe it in 25 words or less. An imagined report on the state of the world in 2050 and how we got there.

Any particular reason for choosing this book? It was of utmost importance to me that the first book of this challenge be positive and inspiring and it delivered.

Who was your favorite character and why? There was only one character in this book, so I’ll tell you my favorite topic instead: virtual travel. As a celiac and borderline germaphobe, travel is difficult if not sometimes impossible for me, so this was very exciting for me to read about.

Who was your least favorite character and why? Again, being that there is only one character, I’ll focus here on my least favorite thing about the book. I found it incredibly frustrating that it was not until extreme disasters happened before changes were made by the powers that be to secure a liveable if not prosperous future for the entire planet.

Did it grab you immediately or did it take a while? It grabbed me immediately, but I did get a bit of information overload about 2/3 of the way through. This is definitely not a light read.

What did you think of the ending? Probably my favorite part of the book was the author’s postscript.

What was the moral of the story? A better future is possible but we all have to work together as humankind.

Did you learn anything? I learned more from this book than any other fictional novel I have ever read. The style makes it extremely reader-friendly and will hopefully mean that more people will read it and start making the imagined future a reality.

Favorite quote: “Limitless love, total security and lots of fun and games – forget the rest! If it’s a better world we’re after, just make sure that every child reaches the age of six feeling radiantly happy.”

What would you change? I would have loved it to have been nonfiction because things looked pretty good in 2050.

Would you read it again? Yes, there was a lot of information to digest.

Who would you recommend it to? Anyone and everyone. It should be required reading for high school students.

Number of unknown words: 1

How far would you be willing to go to save humankind and the planet?

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Brigette Reviews The World We Made

  1. Lisa D says:

    Sounds intriguing – I’ve added it to my Goodreads list and will get to it this year.

Tell us what you think!

