Pete Reviews NOS-4R2

NOS-4R2 by Joe Hill

NOS-4R2 cover

Describe it in 25 words or less. Victoria McQueen must go on a search inside the corrupt imagination of psychopath Charlie Manx in order to rescue her son and her own sanity.

Any particular reason for choosing this book? Because I loved Joe Hill’s “Heart Shaped Box”.

Genre: Science Fiction/Horror/Supernatural

What did you think of the cover art? OK, but I have an idea of my own: Looking through the ivy covered Shorter Way Bridge with the beams of sunlight shining through and the bicycle with Vic on it far at the other end.

Who was your favorite character and why? Margaret “Maggie” Leigh because she was an underdog and had a sense of humor I could relate to.

Who was your least favorite character and why? Bing Partridge because (to put it nicely) was an evil man with no spine or remorse.

Did it grab you immediately or did it take a while? Immediately enthralled by this one.

Was it plot or character driven? Both were very strong, which made it entertaining to read.

What did you think of the ending? Very entertaining. Even with the very last part “A Note On The Type” there was story.

What was the moral of the story? Never underestimate the power of an idea or the importance of being a good parent.

Did you learn anything? A bit about ANFO.

Favorite quote: “You found yourself a librarian! I can help with the figuring-out thing and point you toward some good poetry while I’m at it. It’s what I do” – Maggie Leigh at Vic McQueen

Have you read other books by the same author? Heart Shaped Box, Horns, and one of the Locke & Key series

Would you like to see it adapted into a movie? Any ideas on casting? I think it would make a great movie, not much idea about casting: maybe Keith Richards as Manx.

Soundtrack Recommendations: I’ve created a Christmasland Album on: Spotify, Grooveshark and Rdio

And I’ve also created a Triumph Album over on Grooveshark

Who would you recommend it to? Joe Hill or Stephen King fans, or anyone who likes Triumph motorcycles.

Number of unknown words: 4

Beer pairing: Coors Silver Bullet as requested by Bruce Wayne Carmody.

Architectural Detail: Fish Tank at Here Library (Iowa). Size of a coffin with a single golden koi with long whiskers that lent him a wise appearance. Bottom of the tank is covered in hundreds of scrabble tiles, but only 4 different letters: F I S H.

How would you save someone who has lost their soul?

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Pete Reviews NOS-4R2

  1. […] Have you read other books by the same author? I’ve read all (3) of Joe Hill’s novels. Check out my review of NOS-4R2. […]

  2. […] Have you read other books by the same author? I’ve read all (3) of Joe Hill’s novels. Check out my review of NOS-4R2. […]

  3. […] Have you read other books by the same author? I’ve read all 3 of Joe Hill’s novels. Check out my review of NOS-4R2. […]

  4. […] Have you read other books by the same author? I’ve read all 3 of Joe Hill’s novels. Check out my review of NOS-4R2 […]

Tell us what you think!

