Gable Reviews Danny Champion of the World

Danny Champion of the World by Roald Dahl

danny

Describe it in 25 words or less. Danny’s father is totally awesome but has a deep dark secret that will unlock doors to places they’ve never been before.

Any particular reason for choosing this book? Mom read it to me when I was little but I didn’t remember it and I wanted to find out what it was about.

Genre: Children’s Literature/Action/Adventure

Who was your favorite character and why? Danny’s father, William, because he sounded like a very interesting, wise and helpful person.

Who was your least favorite character and why? Mr. Victor Hazell because he was the stinkiest, fattest jerk in the whole wide world! I am SO glad that he is made-up because if he were real and I met him, I would just go insane!

Did it grab you immediately or did it take a while? It only took about a page and a half for me to really get into it. It was beautifully written.

What did you think of the ending? Beautifully written. The last paragraph was the best part.

Did you learn anything? I learned the best way to catch trout and that pheasants are crazy about raisins and are a lot like roosters.

Favorite quote: “What I have been trying so hard to tell you all along is simply that my father, without the slightest doubt, was the most marvellous and exciting father any boy ever had.”

What would you change? I wouldn’t put in so much dialogue at the end.

Have you read other books by the same author? I have read James and the Giant Peach, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The Magic Finger, Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator, The BFG (which was mentioned in this one), The Witches and Matilda. Matilda and the Witches were probably my favorites.

Who would you recommend it to? Men who are about to become dads or people or pheasants hunters.

Number of unknown words: 7

Recipe:

Toad In The Hole (which was William’s favorite meal)

What is your deepest, darkest secret?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Tell us what you think!

