Pete Reviews My Cool Bike

My Cool Bike by Chris Haddon

my-cool-bike

Write 6 words you would put on this book if it were in the “Blind Date With A Book” shelf. Bicycles, cyclists, bike-culture, invention, inspiration, cool.

Any particular reason for choosing this book? I love bikes and I spotted this one on the featured books display at my local library.

Genre: Non-fiction / bicycles

Who was your favorite character and why? This was tough. Nearly all of the “characters” in the book were inspirational. My favorite was Toon, the Dutch inventor.

Did you learn anything? I was much more inspired than I was educated.

Favorite quote: : “I’ve never thought of bike riding as a lifestyle. I don’t ride to be healthy, though I guess it helps. I don’t ride to compete and win trophies, though I empathise with those that do. I don’t ride to help the environment, but it’s awesome that I am. I don’t ride because I hate traffic – I actually don’t mind it much, especially when I’m able to pass everyone with ease. I don’t ride because I hate cars…I ride because it allows me to take in the world at a slower pace and be a kid again.” – Ben Peck of Benjamin Cycles

Have you read other books in the series? There are 3 other “My Cool” books: Caravan, Campervan, and Classic Car. I would at least like to browse through them.

Would you like to see it adapted into a film? It would make a brilliant documentary.

Soundtrack recommendations. Check out the Bakfietsband from Amsterdam.

Who would you recommend it to? Bicycle enthusiasts.

Number of unknown words: Only 1: Randonneur (French word meaning “hiker” and it is also a brand of bicycle).

Beer pairing: Temple Brewing’s Bicycle Beer

What’s your favorite bike?

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Pete Reviews My Cool Bike

Tell us what you think!