Gable and Morgan Review Freaky Friday

Freaky Friday by Mary Rodgers

freaky friday

Describe it in 25 words or less.

Gable: Thirteen-year-old Annabel Andrews wakes up one morning to find her mind in her mother’s body.

Morgan: A thirteen-year-old girl is suddenly transformed into her mother.

Any particular reason for choosing this book?

Gable: I have watched the 1976 film adaptation of it.

Genre:

Gable: Comedy/Family

Morgan: Comedy/Children’s Literature

What did you think of the cover art?

Gable: I don’t like the fact that books with film adaptations say “Now a major motion picture” on the book cover. It’s like they want you to watch the film and not read the book. And it had the characters from one of the film adaptations on it. No! That ruins the reader’s picture of them. But I still managed to picture them my own way… maybe you will, too!

Who was your favorite character and why?

Gable: Annabel because she was funny and I could relate to her a lot, despite the fact that I’m 4 years younger than her.

Morgan: Annabel because I could relate to her the most.

Who was your least favorite character and why?

Gable: Mrs. Schmauss because she was really mean and I think she might have been drunk. Yeah, she was really odd and cruel.

Morgan: Boris because he was a little annoying.

Did it grab you immediately or did it take a while? 

Gable: I actually really got into it and then it got less and less exciting as it went on. It was really intriguing at first and then it went all over the shop and many unnecessary parts turned up. Like The Penderwicks At Point Mouette.

Morgan: It grabbed me immediately and I quite liked it. It was interesting to see whatit was like for a kid to suddenly be an adult.

Was it plot or character driven?

Gable: Character driven. I mean, obviously, she’s in someone else’s body! It was mainly about her thoughts and most of them I could relate to very easily and I bet many girls in this day and age can.

Morgan: Character driven.

What did you think of the ending?

Gable: A very nice way to end a book but it was sort of boring. I mean, great little half-a-page but it was sort of lame. I just sort of skimmed over the very last part because I just wanted to be done with it.

Morgan: Good.

What was the moral of the story?

Gable: To appreciate the people in your life when they are in it and always at least try to understand where they are coming from.

Morgan: Sometimes being a kid and being who you are is great.

Favorite quote:

Gable: “If you want someone to believe you, you always look them right in the eye.” – Annabel Andrews

Morgan: “If there’s anything I can’t stand, it’s ‘took sick’ and ‘passed on’ or ‘passed away’. What’s the matter with just plain old ‘died’?” – Annabel

What would you change?

Gable: The all-over-the-shop-edness and cut out that beatloaf and Morris thing.

How does the book compare to the film?

Gable: There are actually two film adaptations of Freaky Friday. I watched the 1976 version which is, by the sound of it, more like the book, although it is still a lot more different. I prefer the 1976 film adaptation of it and I hope to watch the 2003 version this year.

Morgan: Surprisingly, I think the 1976 adaption was pretty similar to the book.

Who would you recommend it to?

Gable: People who hate their mother or who think their mother is spoiled.

Morgan: Young girls who want to know what it’s like to be an adult.

Number of unknown words:

Gable: 13

Morgan: 5

Recipe: Mac and Cheese

What would you do if you swapped bodies with your mother for a day?

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Gable and Morgan Review Freaky Friday

  1. […] Morgan: This film was more of a modernization of the 1976 version but it was still just as funny and entertaining. Check out me and Gable’s review of Freaky Friday (the book) here. […]

Tell us what you think!

