Morgan Reviews Turtle In Paradise

Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm

Color Palette:

turtle in paradise cp

Describe it in 25 words or less. It’s 1930, and an eleven year old girl goes to stay with relatives in Key West Florida, where adventure and fun are at every turn.

Any particular reason for choosing this book? Gable had read this book a while back, and I had been keeping it there on my reading list for so long waiting to read it when I needed a good book, so I finally decided to go ahead and read it.

Genre: Comedy/Adventure/Children’s Literature

What did you think of the cover art? I liked that it was kept nice and simple.

Who was your favorite character and why? Turtle, because she was witty and smart.

Who was your least favorite character and why? I thought I’d never say this, but all the characters were so loveable, that I don’t even have one! Unless, of course, you count a scorpion as a character.

Did it grab you immediately or did it take a while? Grabbed me immediately and had me the whole way through!

Was it plot or character driven? More character driven.

What did you think of the ending? Absolutely perfect!

What was the moral of the story? Happiness is everywhere, you just have to look for it.

Did you learn anything? What life was like in 1930s Florida.

Favorite quote: “Nothing like a tragedy to make you realize what’s important.” – Archie Meeks to Turtle

What would you change? I would make Kermit not run so much.

Would you read it again? Yes, probably just to get my head around all the slang they used.

Who would you recommend it to? Anyone who is curious about 1930’s life in Florida, or those who like wit, humor and charm along with a hint of action all put together in a short book.

Number of unknown words: 0

Recipe: Bollos

Where do you find everyday happiness ?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Morgan Reviews Turtle In Paradise

  1. I find everyday happiness from my family… 🙂

Tell us what you think!

