Brigette and Morgan Review The People Of Sparks

The People Of Sparks by Jeanne DuPrau

sparks

Describe it in 25 words or less.

Brigette: The people of Ember finally make it to the surface only to face almost insurmountable hardships.

Morgan: Two twelve-year-olds discover a way out of their crumbling city that turns out may not been exactly what they had expected.

Any particular reason for choosing this book?

Morgan: I am reading the whole series.

Genre:

Brigette: Children’s Literature/Science Fiction

Morgan: Science Fiction/Action/Drama/Children’s Literature

Who was your favorite character and why?

Brigette: Maddy because she was always calm and very sure of herself.

Morgan: It would have to be Lina because I could relate to her the most but I also thought Maddy was a kind and wise person.

Who was your least favorite character and why?

Brigette:Most of the townspeople of Sparks because very few of them did the right thing.

Morgan: I hated Torren. The way they described him annoyed me and the way he behaved also bugged me. Tick was also very stuck-up. I hated him even more at the end. One thing I like about all the characters, though, is that you get to know them as the book goes on, not just straight away; like you would with real people.

Did it grab you immediately or did it take a while? Was it worth the wait?

Brigette: I had thought that The City Of Ember was excruciatingly slow because I’d seen the film first, but I’m beginning to realize the whole series runs at a pace that is far too slow for me. It would probably suit 8-11 year olds though.

Morgan: The more the book went on, the more I liked it. I guess I could say it caught me almost immediately.

Was it plot or character driven?

Morgan: Plenty of both.

What did you think of the ending?

Brigette: Unrealistic and slightly unsatisfying somehow.

Morgan: A relief, really.

What was the moral of the story?

Brigette: Fear is the root of all evil.

Morgan: Don’t fight back. If you want something to stop, stop it in a good way not with more negativity.

Favorite quote:

Brigette: “You approach people like an enemy and bam! They turn into one, whether they were to begin with or not. If you ask me, making friends is a better defense than making enemies.” – Maddy

Morgan: “That’s how it goes, doesn’t it? Someone pushes, someone pushes back. Pretty soon everything’s ruined.” – Dr. Hester

Have you read other books in the series?

Brigette: I plan to read the whole series. Check out my review of City Of Ember.

Would you like to see it adapted into a film?

Brigette: I’ve read that the plans for making this film have been put on hold due to the box office failure of the first film. I think this one has the most important message, though, so it’s a bit of a shame.

Who would you recommend it to?

Brigette: People who have read The City Of Ember or anyone who would like a better understanding of immigration and all the issues that arise with it.

Morgan: Everyone who is old enough to understand at least a little about human society or politics. Any tween, teenager, young adult or adult should read this. It has a great message, plenty of action and lots of things that expand your mind in a new and amazing way.

Number of unknown words:

Brigette: 0

Morgan: 2

Craft/Activity: Make your own electrical generator

Recipe:
Pickled Carrots
Pumpkin Bread

How do you provide for others when you yourself don’t have enough?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Brigette and Morgan Review The People Of Sparks

  1. […] Brigette Reviews The People Of Sparks […]

  2. […] Brigette Reviews The People Of Sparks […]

  3. […] Brigette Reviews The People Of Sparks […]

Tell us what you think!

