Brigette Reviews Why We Broke Up

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

why we broke up

Write 6 words you would put on this book if it were in the “Blind Date With A Book” shelf. High School, Drama, Teen Relationships, Identity

Genre: Teen Literature

What did you think of the illustrations? I think Maira Kalman did an excellent job of capturing the feel of the book and without them, the book may have been unbearable.

Who was your favorite character and why? They all irritated me enough that I didn’t really like any of them.

Who was your least favorite character and why? Ed Slaterton because he was the embodiment of every jerk high school boy I ever met.

Did it grab you immediately or did it take a while? Was it worth the wait? It reeled me in with Al’s awesome Bitter Sixteen Party but kept me perpetually irritated with the odd mix of adult sophistication and teenage stupidity that all of the characters displayed.

What did you think of the ending? Much too perfectly wrapped up.

What was the moral of the story? The only decent high school boys are the ones who are too shy to ask you out.

Did you learn anything? That I am not the only girl whose freshman-year boyfriend broke up with her on Valentine’s Day. It happened to Sara Zarr, author of Sweethearts, as well.

Favorite quote: “And the truth is that I’m not, Ed, is what I wanted to tell you. I’m not different. I’m not arty like everyone says who doesn’t know me, I don’t paint, I can’t draw, I play no instrument, I can’t sing. I’m not in plays, I wanted to say, I don’t write poems. I can’t dance except tipsy at dances. I’m not athletic, I’m not a goth or a cheerleader, I’m not treasurer or co-captain. I’m not gay and out and proud, I’m not that kid from Sri Lanka, nota a triplet, a prep, a drunk, a genius, a hippie, a Christian, a slut, not even one of those super-Jewish girls with a yarmulke gang wishing everyone a happy Sukkoth.” – Min

What would you change? I just can’t accept that NONE of the films, books, songs or liquor mentioned in the entire book were real.

Would you like to see it adapted into a film? Any ideas on casting? I find coming of age stories difficult enough to read without them flashing before my eyes on a giant screen. I’ve read that Hailee Steinfeld has been cast as Min and it disappoints me. I will not be watching this film adaptation.

Soundtrack: There was a lot of fictional jazz music mentioned throughout the book, so I’ve put a few jazz classics on Spotify and Grooveshark for you to listen to whilst burning matches on the roof and regretting having gone out with such a jerk.

Who would you recommend it to? I would only recommend it to people who LOVE watching teenage dramas on television; it has the same set of teenage dilemmas but with actors that are clearly too old for the roles and a script that is far too sophisticated for people their age.

Number of unknown words: 2 (I have never heard of a teenager using the word “morass”)

Craft/Activity: Non-Slutty Halloween Costumes For Girls

Recipe:
Bitter Sixteen Party Menu:
Dandelion Green Pesto (in the book they substituted gorgonzola cheese)
Squid Ink Gnocchi
Blood Orange Vinaigrette
Bitter Chocolate Cake (it may not be 89% cacao, but at least this one is edible)
Red Hare Brewing’s Bitter Hearts Double Black IPA (the closest thing I could find to Scarpia’s Bitter Black Ale)

Artwork:
why we broke up lobby card
(source)

Does anyone else think Min Green and Leonard Peacock would make a great couple?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell us what you think!

