Pete and Brigette Review Jack Reacher

Jack Reacher

jack-reacher

Describe it in 25 words or less.

Pete: A former military detective is called upon to help a Pittsburg lawyer defend a mass murderer.

Brigette: An ex-military detective must find the truth behind a crime committed by a man he’s dealt with before.

Any particular reason for choosing this film?

Pete: I’d like to read the book series by Lee Child and have been keen to watch the movie ever since I saw the trailer.

Brigette: The book series is on Pete’s TBR list and I find that it is often best watch the film BEFORE reading the book.

Genre:

Pete: Action/Crime

Brigette: Crime/Thriller

Who was your favorite character and why?

Pete: Jack Reacher because of his amazing crime solving skills.

Brigette: Jack because he was sharp, polite and fair.

Who was your least favorite character and why?

Pete: The Zec because he was cold-hearted.

Brigette: Charlie because he didn’t seem to have a mind of his own.

How was the casting?

Pete: Excellent casting; I thought everyone was perfect for their respective roles.

Did it grab you immediately or did it take a while?

Pete: It grabbed me immediately and kept me enthralled throughout the entire 130 minutes.

Brigette: I was hooked from the start. The script was brilliant, the pace just right and the cinematography was perfect.

Favorite quote:

Pete:
Rodin: “So… how do we find this… Reacher?”
Emerson: “Obviously you don’t find this guy unless he wants to be found.”
Secretary: [Knocks and enters the room] “Excuse me, sir, there is a Jack Reacher here to see you.”

Brigette:
Jack: “I’m on a budget, Sandy.”
Sandy: “What?!”
Jack: “I can’t afford you.”
Sandy: “I’m NOT a hooker.”
Jack: “Well, then I really can’t afford you.”
Sandy: “Seriously, I work at the auto parts store.”
Jack: “What I mean is, the cheapest woman tends to be the one you pay for.”
Sandy: “I AM NOT A HOOKER!”
Jack: “Well, a hooker would get the joke.”

How was the soundtrack?

Brigette: Like everything else on this film, the score by Joe Kraemer was very well suited. You can listen to it on YouTube here. There were 4 other songs that appear in the film that you can listen to on YouTube as well.
Jump Around by House Of Pain
Young Americans by David Bowie
The Fightin’ Side Of Me by Merle Haggard
Little By Little by Gregg Allman

Have you watched other films by the same director/actor?

Pete: I think now is the perfect time for me to declare that I am a PROUD Tom Cruise fan (and have been since Risky Business). I think I’ve seen most of the films he has been in.

Brigette: Although I would not call myself a Tom Cruise fan, I keep coming back to his films because I’m almost always guaranteed an entertaining time.

How was the ending?

Pete: Thrilling.

Brigette: Perfect.

What was the moral of the story?

Pete: Don’t take anything on face value.

Brigette: Sometimes looking at things from a different perspective sheds a new light on the truth.

Who would you recommend it to?

Pete: Anyone who likes crime films with a generous dose of realistic action and some comedy thrown in.

Brigette: To people who like their heroes to be smart but not cocky, gentlemanly and environmentally friendly.

Won’t Eat Their Cereal Opportunity: Tom Cruise Won’t Eat His Cereal #2

Craft/Activity: Learn some Keysi Fighting Method moves.

Beer Pairing: (Pete’s specialty)
Sly Fox Brewery’s Chester County Bitter (but you’ll have to head to Phoenixville, PA, USA to grab some)

Favorite Architectural Detail: (Pete’s other specialty)
3 Rivers Hotel

jack reacher archi detail

Is there a difference between the law and what’s right?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell us what you think!

