Pete and Brigette Review Before Midnight

Before Midnight

Before-Midnight

Describe it in 25 words or less.

Pete: The continuing life saga of Jesse and Celine, who met on a train in Vienna almost 20 years earlier.

Brigette: Twenty years after first meeting, Jesse and Celine are struggling to hold their relationship together.

Genre:

Pete: Romantic Drama

Brigette: Drama

Who was your favorite character and why?

Pete: Patrick because of his charm.

Brigette: Jesse because he was honest and realistic.

Who was your least favorite character and why?

Pete: Celine because she appeared slightly unstable.

Brigette: Celine because she was insecure and often irrational.

Did it grab you immediately or did it take a while?

Pete: It grabbed me immediately and dragged me deep into the ‘feel’ of the story. I think I can relate to the relationship mostly because I’m also in my forties and have children.

Brigette: The opening scene was heart-wrenching and grabbed me right away, the dialog was also the best I’ve heard in a very long time, but about ¾ of the way through it made me cringe with how real it got.

Favorite quote:

Pete: “I don’t ogle girls, I make love to them with my eyes.” – Jesse

Brigette:
Celine: “I love your mom. You’re always so hard on her.”
Jesse: “That’s because you missed the f***ed up years; you’re just getting the good era.”

How was the soundtrack?

Brigette: With all the dialog, I failed to notice the 3 songs.
Gia Ena Tango by Charis Alexiou
Stou Mema Ta Traina by Nikos Kalogeropoulos
O Antonis O Kekes by Nikos Kalogeropoulos

Is it part of a series and have you seen the rest of the series?

Brigette: I have seen the previous two films: Before Sunrise and Before Sunset and enjoyed them very much. I love this concept of real time sequels.

Pete: I’ve seen the first two installments (Before Sunrise, and Before Sunset) and found them both fascinating films.

How was the ending?

Pete: The ending was realistic but kept me guessing.

Brigette: A relief.

What was the moral of the story?

Pete: Family is often very complicated and messy.

Brigette: Relationships are messy but worth it.

Who would you recommend it to?

Pete: Anyone who has been in a long term relationship, or a relationship with someone from another country, or authors.

Brigette: People in committed relationships.

Recipe: Greek Salad

Beer Pairing: (Pete’s specialty) Midnight Sun Brewing’s Meltdown Double IPA

Favorite Architectural Detail: (Pete’s other specialty)
Ruins in Methoni

Before Midnight archi

Before Midnight archi2

What one thing would you like to change about your spouse?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell us what you think!

