The Family Reviews The Lego Movie

The Lego Movie

301133id1g_LEGO_Final_Rated_27x40_1Sheet.indd

Describe it in 25 words or less.

Pete: An ordinary Lego construction worker unintentionally goes on a quest to prevent Lord Business from carrying out his evil plan.

Brigette: Generic construction worker, Emmet, must become “the special” and save the world.

Morgan: An average Lego man who follows “instructions” goes on an epic adventure to save his town from the evil Lord Business.

Gable: A lonely Lego construction worker finds another Lego on site who takes him on a thrilling quest to save the world of Legos.

Genre:

Pete: Animated/Action/Comedy/Family

Brigette: Animated/Family/Action/Adventure

Morgan: Epic Animation/Family/Comedy

Who was your favorite character and why?

Pete: Emmet Brickowski because he was such a nice guy whom I could easily relate to.

Brigette: Emmet because he was genuine, humble and never lost hope.

Morgan: Emmet because he was funny and kind.

Gable: Emmet because I could relate to him the most and he was also pretty funny.

Who was your least favorite character and why?

Pete: Lord Business because of his evil intent.

Brigette: Lord Business because he was selfishly neurotic.

Morgan: Lord Business because of the simple fact that he was evil and hated change.

Gable: President Business because he wanted to end the world when he could actually help it.

How was the casting?

Pete: Brilliant casting. I especially liked the fact they used Anthony Daniels for the voice of C-3PO. Will Ferrell is also one of my favorite actors.

Did it grab you immediately or did it take a while?

Pete: It grabbed me immediately and has left me with a smile on my face, even days after watching.

Brigette: I have to admit that I went into this film with very low expectations but was quickly convinced that this was one of the best films I’ve seen all year.

Morgan: It grabbed me immediately and all the action, comedy and epic-ness made me entertained the whole way through!

Gable: Before watching it, I thought it was going to be super lame but it actually made it to my top 5 films EVER!

Favorite quote:

Pete: “Great. I think I got it. But just in case… tell me the whole thing again, I wasn’t listening.” – Emmet

Brigette: “I liked Emmet before it was cool.” – Vitruvius

Morgan: “The only thing anyone needs to be special is to believe that you can be. I know that sounds like a cat poster, but it’s true.” – Vitruvius

Gable: “You don’t have to be the bad guy. You are the most talented, most interesting and most extraordinary person in the universe. And you are capable of amazing things because you are “the special”. And so am I and so is everyone.” – Emmet

How was the soundtrack?

Brigette: Awesomely scored by Mark Mothersbaugh which you can listen to here and also check out the Tegan and Sara version of Everything Is Awesome.

Would you watch it again?

Pete: Yes, without hesitation.

Brigette: I would love to watch it again frame by frame so I can really see all the detail.

Morgan: Most definitely! It had a brilliant message and a lot of action.

Gable: When I watched it, I was focusing too heavily on the story. I might just want to re-watch it so I can take in all the Lego creations.

How was the ending?

Pete: Atypical for a good verses evil story and filled me with feelings of joy like no other film I’ve ever watched.

Brigette: Unexpectedly heartwarming. I cried and then sat in hushed awe as the credits rolled.

Morgan: It tugged at my heartstrings. One of the best film endings I’ve seen in a while.

Gable: I actually cried a little bit before the ending so you can tell it was probably awesome.

What was the moral of the story?

Pete: Everyone is special in some way.

Brigette: Everyone has the potential to contribute something awesome to the world.

Morgan: Believe in yourself. Sometimes you have to be different and creative to do something great.

Gable: Everyone has the government’s instructions to follow but you should never be afraid to make up your own instructions or just live your life without any at all.

Who would you recommend it to?

Pete: Absolutely everyone.

Brigette: Everyone!

Morgan: Those who need a good laugh, a good cry or an over-all good film to watch. So basically everyone.

Gable: Everyone and anyone! Especially people who loved the book Leisl & Po.

Won’t Eat Their Cereal Opportunity: Emmet Brickowski Won’t Eat His Cereal

Color Palette: (Morgan’s specialty)

lego movie cp

Recipe: Chicken Wings

Beer pairing: (Pete’s specialty) Spoetzl Brewery’s Shiner Bock

Artwork:

lego movie artwork
(source)

Favorite Architectural Detail: (Pete’s other specialty)
Saloon Interior

lego movie archi detail

Craft/Activity: Celebrate your love of all things Lego with a Lego-inspired party.

What makes you special?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Tell us what you think!

