Gable Reviews Kristina: The Girl King

Kristina: The Girl King, Sweden, 1638 by Carolyn Meyer

kristina-the-girl-king

Describe it in 25 words or less. The fictionalization of the diary of Kristina, the first female ruler of Sweden.

Any particular reason for choosing this book? I was interested in The Royal Diaries series and I have recently learned about wars in Sweden for school so I decided that this book might be a good insight on life in Sweden, back in the day.

Genre: Fictionalized History

Who was your favorite character and why? I wouldn’t call any of them characters because they were all real people but my favorite character was Kristina because I could relate to her the most, although I liked Karl, too.

Who was your least favorite character and why? Maria Eleonora because she was annoying and she sent mixed messages which I dislike in any person because it’s confusing.

Did it grab you immediately or did it take a while? It was better at the start, but I got bored with it as I read on.

Was it plot or character driven? Character driven, most definitely for the fact that it was a diary.

What did you think of the ending? It was a happy ending but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I would’ve if the book had kept me at the same level of interest throughout.

Did you learn anything? I learned a lot about Swedish royalty and how the regular everyday people of Sweden lived their lives, especially with marriage.

Favorite quote: “That advice, like most, is easy to give but hard to put into action.” – Kristina

Who would you recommend it to? People who are interested in King Kristina and children who want to read grown-up non-fiction books but aren’t allowed to.

Number of unknown words:34

Craft/Activity: Learn how to fence.

Tell us about a time you were forced to do something out of duty that you didn’t want to do.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Tell us what you think!

