Brigette Reviews Honor Bound: My Journey to Hell and Back with Amanda Knox

Honor Bound: My Journey to Hell and Back with Amanda Knox by Raffaele Sollecito and Andrew Gumbel

HONOR-BOUND-COVER-ART

Describe it in 25 words or less. Raffaele Sollecito’s account of the events surrounding the murder of Meredith Kercher.

Any particular reason for choosing this book? I’d read Amanda Knox’s book, Waiting To Be Heard, and wanted to get another perspective from the other person accused alongside her.

Genre: Memoir

Did it grab you immediately or did it take a while? This book had the best dedication I’ve read in a while and the preface was excellent. Having already familiarized myself with general ideas through Amanda’s book first, sometimes I got mired down in having to read about them again. However, I preferred Sollecito’s writing style as it was full of a whole range of emotions. This could also be due to the fact that Sollecito had Andrew Gumbel co-write perhaps because of the language issue.

What did you think of the ending? I really enjoyed the ending of this account because it let you know what happened beyond the acquittal.

What was the moral of the story? Sometimes standing by the truth means sacrificing your freedom.

Did you learn anything? I learned even more about the Italian judicial system and a bit about Italian culture in general.

Favorite quote: “I did want to make my father proud; that much was important to me. But figuring out how to please him while also establishing my independence was a skill I had yet to master.” – Raffaele Sollecito

What would you change? A koala is a marsupial, not a bear and should never be referred to as one.

Who would you recommend it to? Anyone who has read Amanda Knox’s account and wants a different perspective.

Number of unknown words: 3

Craft/Activity: How to stay fit in prison.

Recipe: New York Style Cheesecake

When was the last time you told the truth even thought you knew it would have dire consequences?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Tell us what you think!

