Pete and Brigette Review Carrie

Carrie

Carrie poster

Pete: I only vaguely remember the 1976 version but from what I can remember I’m not entirely sure this version did Stephen King’s 1974 novel a better service. I think the pure rage that Carrie White experienced was slightly better handled in this more recent version, but the story was changed to portray a more understanding and modernized student group, that weren’t all hell bent on persecuting her. Because of this the explosion of rage came across as unexpected over-reaction and allowed little affinity for her outburst. Carrie’s quickly learned control of her telekinesis (which was a change from the novel) only made her more malicious and vengeful, also making it harder for gaining any sympathy. I would recommend that most people read the book and if you were to watch a film of it, try the 1976 version. I’m yet to see the 2002 film or the stage musical (really?). I’d pair Aviator Brewing Company’s Hogwild IPA with this film. Favorite architectural detail: Carrie’s house.

Carrie archi detail White family house

Brigette: Loved Julianne Moore in this role. Didn’t think Chloe Grace Moretz pulled off the role of Carrie, though. Didn’t think this film needed remaking, but curiosity got the best of me. I preferred the 1976 version and am seriously considering reading the Stephen King novel, which I’m sure is better than either of them. But the thing I hate the most about this film is the message it sends about bullying but did like the message that sewing your own clothes can be super cool.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Tell us what you think!

