The Family Reviews Coraline

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

coraline

Pete: Being written as a book for children I thought this was going to be enjoyable and easy to read. Unfortunately it was only the latter. I’m not sure why but I found the supernatural side of it not as intense as I normally would. It was rather predictable and could have been more interesting or terrifying than it was. I’m yet to see the film but would like to and I also plan to hunt down Gaiman’s “The Sandman” graphic novel. I’d suggest anything from Cellar Rats Brewery with this one.

Brigette: I found this book overly simplistic and reminiscent of many other classic novels such as Alice In Wonderland, The Wizard Of Oz and The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe. I saw the film adaptation a few years ago and much preferred it to the book. The creepy factor is found mostly in the illustrations in some editions.

Morgan: At first, I thought this book was just going to take a while to get into but in the end, it was a bit of a disappointment. It was too simplistically written to the point where it was predictable. I will admit that it WAS a little creepy and weird at the end but I was still unsatisfied.

Gable: I was expecting this book to be super creepy because I watched the trailer for the film adaptation of it when I was younger and that was so scary I could not bring myself to watch the film itself. Surprisingly, the book was actually quite lame. I guess it would be super freaky for toddlers, but also an easy read. I think I was just far too old for it and it so all the fun and excitement it would have in store for younger readers was gone for me. The last few chapters were quite scary and intense but not as much as I was expecting from it. I would now really like to watch the film and see how scary it was compared to the book.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Tell us what you think!

